Skip to main content

Colloquia and seminars

Our forthcoming events are listed below. If there isn't anything listed, then there are no events currently planned. Please keep checking our website for information and updates.

Wednesday 05 Oct 2022The Earth: evolution of a habitable planet

Andrew Watson - University of Exeter

LSI Room B ? 14:00-15:00

Thursday 06 Oct 2022Thermodynamics of smooth models of pseudo-Anosov homeomorphisms

Dominic Veconi - International Centre for Theoretical Physics (Trieste, Italy)

Harrison 103 14:30-15:30

Friday 07 Oct 2022Polarization textures of light

Sonja Franke-Arnold - University of Glasgow

Newman Red 12:30-13:30

Tuesday 11 Oct 2022A multiannual record of convective instability in Mars's middle atmosphere

Nicholas Heavens - Space Science Institute

Harrison 170 14:30-15:30

Tuesday 11 Oct 2022Astrophysics Seminar 2022 - 2023

Nick Heavens -

Harrison 170 14:30-15:00

Thursday 13 Oct 2022Number Theory and Algebra Seminar: A1-homotopy theory of log schemes

Doosung Park - University of Wuppertal

Harrison 203 15:30-16:30

Wednesday 19 Oct 2022A Decade of Black-Hole X-ray Binary Transients

Phil Charles - University of Southampton

Physics building, 4th floor 14:00-15:00

Tuesday 25 Oct 2022Combining physics and machine learning in the turbulence-convection parameterization of the CliMA climate model

Yair Cohen - Climate Modeling Alliance, California Institute of Technology

Harrison 170 14:30-15:30

Wednesday 26 Oct 2022Astrophysics Seminar 2022 - 2023

Florian Lienhard - University of Cambridge

Physics building, 4th floor 14:00-15:00

Wednesday 02 Nov 2022Astrophysics Seminar 2022 - 2023

Miha Cernetic - MPA Garching

Physics building, 4th floor 14:00-15:00

Friday 04 Nov 2022Breaking classical imaging limits with entangled photons

Hugo Defienne - Sorbonne University

Newman Red 12:30-13:30

Wednesday 09 Nov 2022Astrophysics Seminar 2022 - 2023

Paola Pinilla - MSSL/UCL

Physics building, 4th floor 14:00-15:00

Wednesday 16 Nov 2022Astrophysics Seminar 2022 - 2023

Olivia Venot - CNRS Paris

Physics building, 4th floor 14:00-15:00

Thursday 17 Nov 2022Number Theory and Algebra Seminar: TBA

Prof. Andreas Langer - University of Exeter

Harrison 203 14:30-16:30

Wednesday 23 Nov 2022Astrophysics Seminar 2022 - 2023

Leen Decin - KU Leuven

Physics building, 4th floor 14:00-15:00

Friday 25 Nov 2022Four geometrical-optics illusions

Michael Berry - University of Bristol

Newman Red 12:30-13:30

Wednesday 30 Nov 2022Astrophysics Seminar 2022 - 2023

Caroline Terquem - University of Oxford

Physics building, 4th floor 14:00-15:00

Wednesday 30 Nov 2022Robin Chapman Lecture: Clueless Voting

Prof. Imre Leader - University of Cambridge

Harrison 004 14:30-16:30

Thursday 01 Dec 2022Pure Mathematics Seminar: Lion and Man

Prof. Imre Leader - University of Cambridge

Harrison 203 14:30-16:30

Wednesday 07 Dec 2022Astrophysics Seminar 2022 - 2023

Mihkel Kama - UCL

Physics building, 4th floor 14:00-15:00

Thursday 15 Dec 2022Number Theory and Algebra Seminar: TBA

Dr John Nicholson - Imperial College

Harrison 203 14:30-16:30

Friday 27 Jan 2023How to detect Cosmic Neutrinos?

Martin Bauer - Durham University

Newman Red 12:30-13:30

Friday 10 Feb 2023Magnetospheric dynamics and auroras at the outer planets and exoplanets

Johnathan Nichols - University of Leicester

Newman Red 12:30-13:30

Friday 03 Mar 2023Quantum optics and quantum thermodynamics with semiconductor quantum dots

Pascale Senellart-Mardon - Université Paris-Saclay

Newman Red 12:30-13:30